Bone Broth – Beef and Chicken

So last weekend, in preparation for the Whole30 program, I went ahead and made beef and chicken bone broth. It is highly recommended by most Paleo cooks (especially The Paleo Mom) and so simple to make.What is bone broth? Well this link…http://www.thepaleomom.com/2012/03/health-benefits-of-bone-broth.html can tell you a bit more. Basically, you boil the bones of any animal, along with some veggies and small bit of apple cider vinegar, to get the good nutrients from the bone marrow out. After cooking for 2-3 days on low in a crock-pot, you strain the broth out from the solids and, BAM!, yummy nutrient dense bone broth is born! It can be used in a variety of ways. Here is a recipe for Chicken Bone Broth (BTW all bone broths are the same, just use a different animal bone):

  • Giblets and carcasses from 2 chickens (I might use the carcasses from two chickens but also bones saved from a night of wings)
  • 1 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 medium yellow onions, roots cut off and quartered
  • 4-5 carrots, washed and cut in half (or about 2 cups of baby carrots)
  • 6-8 celery stalks, washed and cut into thirds
  • 6-8 cloves of garlic
  • 3 bay leaves
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 gallon cold water (enough to cover the ingredients-I filled to the top of the crock-pot))

1. Place chicken giblets and broken up carcasses into your crock-pot. Add enough water to cover the bones (approximately 1 gallon) and the apple cider vinegar.
2. Cover and turn on low for 10 – 24 hours. Stir once or twice in the first few hours, and then stir at least a couple of times over the day.
3.    Add the vegetables, garlic, salt and bay leaves to the crock-pot. Cover and cook for 24 more hours on low.
4.    Stir every couple of hours. Let simmer with lid off for the last 2-3 hours.
5.    Strain all the ingredients by pouring bone broth from one pot to another through a colander or strainer.

So last week I got both crock-pots going. That was fun. My old champ verses my new fab crock-pot (thanks to my ex bf Jim–I love it btw). The new crock-pot had the two large organic beef bones I bought frozen from Earthfare and the old crock-pot had the 2 chicken carcasses. I actually just threw all the ingredients in together and let simmer for three days, stirring every couple of hours. I strained the chicken one first because it was done first (due to smaller bones). It yielded about 7-8 cups of bone broth. Then I waited a few more hours for the beef bone broth to cook and then did the same. After being in the refrigerator for several hours, I skimmed off the fat from the top. I wasn’t sure if I should keep the fat or throw it away, so I saved it in a container. I will update on that later.  I plan on purchasing Ball jars (canning jars) to put the broth in for easy access. I also plan on freezing some because it can only be refrigerated for 6-7 days before it goes “bad”.

So bone broth complete. Check. Next!

Leave a Reply

